In the Fog..

That’s where I have been lately…in the fog.  I’m feeling a whole slew of ways.  Emotions are such fucked up things most of the time.  I’ve been trying like hell to sort through them all, from those feelings of loss, to feelings of renewed strength.  It’s no easy task.  I’ve been burying most of my emotions for months now…and the build up is working it’s way towards either an implosion or an explosion…both are pulling in equal directions!

I haven’t been writing much at all.  Which is VERY unlike me.  I have always written at least every other day…but for some reason I am avoiding the keyboard, the phone and the pen/paper like mad.  So, tonight I am determined to do some writing here; to sort through some stuff.  You are welcome to read along, but let me forewarn you that this may be a bit discombobulated or it may make perfect sense…THAT is yet to be seen.

What’s been going on in my life?  The same daily struggles of course.  Working my 3 days a week, puttering around the house.  Playing in my gardens.  I’ve been laying pretty low, not causing much commotion – as if I could!  LOL  I like things rather quiet.  I enjoy my home and spend a good amount of time here, working around inside and out.  Making it as nice a home as I can for the dogs and I.

I’ve been trying to talk my best friend in to moving in with me, her and her 2 cats.  It would make life so much easier on both of us, sharing expenses and being company for one another.  But she has her house that she owns, and one of the cats is very old and she’s afraid that he will not adapt to new surrounds this late in his life.  I say he will.  But it’s just not happening.  So, I spend most of my evenings alone, chatting on FB messenger with friends, or watching TV, reading and sometimes writing.  I’ve been pretty absorbed in US politics…a whole other topic for another time.  The last 2 days I have had to back off and take a break from it…it’s just so incredibly chaotic over here in the USA…incredibly fucked up to put it bluntly and honestly.

Been doing some thinking about people that I miss in my life.  Wishing that there weren’t so many good-byes.  But understanding that that is just part of life.  People come and people go.  Some stay a while, some retreat quite abruptly.  I miss the Spanish chick, still.  And I miss a couple of other’s who have dropped out of my life.  But, alas, life does go on and whether those people are still in it or not is completely up to them in most cases.

I’ve changed in the past couple of years — doesn’t everyone change with time?  I am more sure of myself in knowing what I want and don’t want.  What I don’t want is “temporary” people in my life.  I don’t want to play games, or pretend to be someone I am not just to make someone else comfortable. I don’t want to be used for any reason.  I am a strongly opinionated person, I have good morals and ethics that I am committed to and I will not waiver in my commitment to them for anyone.  What I do want is more truth in life.  Genuine people who care about others and are not self-centered or self-absorbed.  I like people who are engaged in life, who read and stay informed about what’s going on in the world, who understand that all of our lives are intertwined and connected.

I had a young friend just come out to her family today.  It was really super sweet, they stepped right up and were whole-heartedly supportive of her!  Insuring her that they love her and are proud that she found her voice and exited the closet!  Her mom is a very good friend of mine, and she called me today to talk about it, to insure herself that she had responded lovingly enough!  I thought THAT was awesome of her!  My young friend is just 21, she’s got her whole life ahead of her and now she can move forward without that nagging “fear” of being “found out”….we all know that fear, and how paralyzing it can be.  Coming out is a very personal thing, and is not always received like this one way, with love and dignity.  Sometimes it goes in the opposite direction, sadly.  I’m just happy that this one went so well!  I am always happy to support and mentor young LGBT folks who contact me, and I knew that this one would eventually do so..it was just a matter of time.  I have known her all of her life, and could see that she was struggling with this over the last couple of years specifically. But I thought it best to let her come to us, instead of confronting her on this very personal issue.  In the end this is what happened, and everyone is doing great tonight!  Welcome to our community young Ash!  🙂

Took Lulu and Nola out for a walk around the neighborhood tonight.  We all needed to get out for some exercise and fresh air.  We waited until around 7 to take advantage of the setting sun and cooling off of temps.  Even Lulu actually WALKED on her leash today! That’s progress as she would rather be carried most of the time, lazy baby girl!  She walked with enthusiasm today!  So I have decide to make it a nightly thing, to help us get in better shape.  Nola and I could stand to lose some weight and Lulu needs to fatten up and get some more muscle.  So this will definitely benefit us all!  Nola and I are both getting older and it’s not easy to keep the weight off of either of us.  I personally could lose a good 25 lbs and be a lot happier with my appearance.  Nola is about 22 lbs.  She should be more like 17…so she has a proportionate amount of weight to lose, at least 5 lbs.  We’ll keep you posted on our progress.  I am going to buy a weighing scale this weekend.  I don’t even own one now…but need one to keep track of our progress.  Yeah, it’s gotten that bad!  I usually lose it faster in the summer, but it’s not happening this year like it has in the past.  So the weight war begins….lol

So, it’s a nice cool night.  I am heading to  bed soon, to cuddle with the pups and get some rest.  Tomorrow I have a bunch of little things to get done around here and then I have doctor visits on Wednesday; work Thursday and Friday and then do it all over again.  I am planning to go to the beach this weekend.  Not sure which one yet, but I’m definitely due for a beach day with the dogs.  Sun and surf on the agenda!

I’ve been talking to one woman lately about feminism and Butch bashing.  It seems that she’s involved in a group on FB that’s mostly femmes and they discuss femme lesbian issue and ideas.  She tells me that there is some “Butch bashing” going on lately.  And that some of the more extreme feminist leaning women have been saying things like “why date a woman who looks like the opposition?” (meaning men I assume).  I find that quite insulting.  That is bashing in it’s finest to me.  I found that to be a new insult, hadn’t heard that one before. Especially from a femme identified person.

You would think that if they were part of the B-F community that they would understand by now that saying that is just not right.  I am told the people saying this are more for femme to femme play, and relationships, so this may explain the odd statement, although it makes it no more less hurtful.  I do not view men as “opposition” at all.  There’s a little bit of asshole in everyone of us.  I try to view and treat people as I wish to be treated.  With respect and compassion.  Yes, I am Butch.  I am masculine in presentation and mannerisms.  I tend to push the binary very hard.  If someone finds this offensive, or to be emulating their “opposition” then that’s on them, and I don’t care to have it in my life.  I am who I am.  Butch and proud.

Do you have any examples of Butch or femme bashing?  I’d like to hear from others on this topic.

Peace!  ~MB

6 Replies to “In the Fog..”

  1. good luck with the weight loss, I watch your videos n really it does not look like you need to be shedding pounds, just saying, thats all I am sayin about that,(still traumatized about the skivvies), ehem, exercise is good, do you have a pedal bike? a slow leisurely bike ride for a couple miles every second evening will do a world of good for you, build yourself a pup carrier and pull it behind you as you ride. and I am sure you know that if you start building muscle you will actually gain weight cuz muscle is heavier than fat.

    as for that feminism, I stay away from isms, my history has given me a very unique view on that, which is old school feminism is good… when it was about equality equal pay equal rights freedom to be ourselves etc all the really good stuff… today’s world…it’s a word highjacked by the militants who wanna rid the world of men, I can’t support that.

    I am not even goin near the Butch/femme thing, I don’t wanna turn red again

    have a great night, 🙂
    lesli

  2. I believe I’m in the same group as your friend. the behaviour was not tolerated by any fem there. it was upsetting and offensive to all of us.

    and unfortunately I’ve witnessed/experienced plenty of butch and fem bashing out there… I’m too tired to write more now but there’s plenty of it going around, sadly.

  3. I’m in a group that is supposedly for femme lesbians too, but I don’t believe it’s the same group because I haven’t seen this conversation. The group I’m in is full of non-femmes—it’s mostly bisexual women and lipstick lesbians. There is a serious problem with people using the word “femme” incorrectly and that is the first issue here. Women who bash butches aren’t femmes, because femmes are attracted to butches. The second issue is that lots of people don’t understand what butch and femme identities are, (Even lots of lesbians don’t get it, sadly). But there is a particular misunderstanding within radical feminism that butch and femme identities are women who deliberately perform gender roles as a way to role-play heterosexuality. There are theorists who have written on this and who have quoted as evidence the writings of women from the sex-positive movement who have indeed turned their styles of dress into a role-play. However, I would argue that that’s not what butch/femme is at all and that all those people are getting it wrong. If you see radical feminists claiming to be lesbians but theorizing about lesbian desire in terms of men, they’re not lesbians. Real lesbians are attracted to whatever women they’re attracted to and it has nothing to do with men whatsoever—we don’t compare our female lovers to men and we don’t organize our lives around trying to relate to men in a particular way. I could write a whole essay about this, but I’ll leave it here for now.
    @MB, I sent you an email last week after you commented on my blog. Not sure if you saw it.

    1. Oh! PS I am sorry, I’m HORRIBLE at checking my email bc it is always so full of spam and junk. I really need to open a new acct to rectify this problem, but I’ve had the mainelybutch@yahoo.com acct for over a decade and hate to lose it! I’ll find your email and respond appropriately! I’m sorry !! ~MB

Leave Your Feedback!

