Under the Weather

I am starting out the week with one helluva summer cold.  Coughing my damned brains out, and got a stuffy head.  This sucks, considering that I am scheduled to have my bad tooth repaired tomorrow morning at 8am.  I am PRAYING that I feel way better and am not coughing, I really need to get that tooth fixed so it will stop cutting up the inside of my cheek.  So, I’m guzzling liquids, taking cold meds and sleeping quite a bit.  Been down since Saturday.  I am feeling slightly better today than I was yesterday, so I am hopefully on the mend.

I am trying to have a new attitude about life.  I have just been sort of sitting with thinking about a lot of things over the last 2-3 weeks.  I’ve decided that the majority of the problems with my life are self-imposed.  Yup, I am the problem.  Thus, I must change.  No more waiting for shit to happen, I am now on a mission to MAKE it happen.

I’ve also been giving much thought to setting goals.  I have mentioned this before, and it’s still weighing heavily on my mind.  Without goals in life you stay stagnant, you settle for the status quo.  I need change, so I need goals.  Because of my ADD I have to break the goals up into steps, but that’s okay, at least I can see the progress toward the goals with that approach.  I am a habitual list maker, I work well from lists.  So what I have done for each of my current goals is to make a list of the necessary steps  to achieving the goal.  It’s working nicely thus far!  My goal of having my dental work done is already underway, with several appointments already scheduled.

I am working on expanding the front porch so that it’s large enough for the patio set and grill.  It’s going to be really nice to be able to sit out there on nice days!  Right now it’s just sort of an “entry” porch, with not a lot of room for relaxing.  I am going to double the size of it outward toward the driveway.  I will also be painting the whole thing to spruce it up for the year.

The gardens are slowly coming along.  I’ve put in lots of bulbs and  am going to be putting in seeds as soon as I think the cold weather is behind us.  I’m skeptical right now, some nights are dipping pretty close to 30 lately.  We are currently under drought conditions here, we could really use some good rain.  No matter what I do I am going to have to water every night – not my favorite activity – to keep things growing.  The lawn is just about high enough for a first cut.  I am thinking I will crank up the lawn mower tomorrow and give it a once over – before the stupid office sends me a hate letter telling me to mow.  They are famous for harassing me lately.  I recently got one to slow down driving in here, fuckers.  Now I CREEP along like an old lady.

I’ve opened up the house today, all the windows and doors, to air it out, get the germs out of here and make myself feel better.  I even spent about an hour out there putting out my garden ornaments, getting the new bird feeder pole into place and filling the feeders.  It was good to get some nice fresh air in my lungs.  And tonight I am not coughing very much at all.  I have also begun taking my antibiotics, just incase they’ll help!

I’m off to bed now, nice clean sheets – sans cold germs!  Ah, it will feel good to sink in to those tonight.  I have a long day tomorrow with the dentist in the morning and a renal ultra-sound in the afternoon.  Hopefully everything will be fine with both.

Peace.  ~MB

 

 

 

Leave Your Feedback!

