Trumpy Tweets Nuclear Policy Change

Trump and his Tweets!  When a US president, or in this case a president-elect, speaks the whole world listens.  Yesterday he basically blew 40 years of nuclear policy work out of the fucking water by tweeting

Donald J. Trump@realDonaldTrump 19h19 hours ago

The United States must greatly strengthen and expand its nuclear capability until such time as the world comes to its senses regarding nukes

This is just insanity at it’s worst.  Calling for the proliferation of nuclear weapons?  WHO DOES THAT?  Especially in today’s volatile world.

I was in the Army from 1980-86 and I was unfortunately cleared to serve in nuclear missle units during my entire service.  I was in the motor pool, working on the trucks and tanks that moved the missles or troops when necessary. I had some first hand experience of living around live nuclear warheads, and let me tell you it’s fucking scary as hell.

The first unit I served with held Nike Hercules missiels – ICBM’s (Intercontinental Ballistic Missiles) – which are the first arm of the “nuclear triad”.  These are generally pre-designated destination missiles.  I remember clearly that the warheads were affectionately painted by the missile monkeys with the names of Russian cities on them.  Nice, huh?  Doesn’t anyone remember Hiroshima?  Nagasaki?  Millions of people turned to dust in a split second?  Millions of other living lives maimed and crippled by nuclear fallout – and still those areas are wastelands of nuclear fallout and death.  Nuclear war is nothing to joke about, it’s a very serious issue.

The US policy the last 40 years has been to reduce the nuclear arsenals of the world, our own included.  Not to “..greatly strengthen and expand…” it as Trump suggests he will do when in office.  And to announce this to the world, what a fucking bone head this guy really is.  Of course Russias response was to immediately call for their own country to do the exact same, build a bigger arsenal and also proclaim that THEY are the world’s #1 nuclear super power and no one will threaten them because of it.  Of course, Putin, you are as big a fucking bone head as Trumpy.

When I returned the the continental US after serving in the Nike Herc unit in Germany, I was stationed with a Lance missile unit in Oklahoma.  Lance were MLRS missiles, Multiple Launch Rocket Sytems and were mounted on tanks that held like 12-16 of them at a time.  They could be launched on the move, and generally were surface to air, or surface to surface.  And they were deadly accurate.  We would launch dummies from New Mexico and hit targets in Nevada within a 10 meters of dead center.  Scary.  The first time I witnessed the launching of these monsters at White Sands Missile Range in New Mexico I just about shit my pants.  They were powerful and deadly for sure.

So, it’s a dangerous game idiot Trumpy is playing spouting off shit about nuclear proliferation like that.  We have a global nuclear non-proliferation policy for a reason.  Nuclear war ends everything permanently and cannot be reversed.  It’s total devastation and you can’t just rebuild it after the fact, like you sometimes can with conventional warfare.

This guy has chosen to announce his policy via Twitter.  This is unprecedented (- yes I spelled it right, unlike Trump) and it’s just plain fucking dangerous.  What is next?  Announcing that Freedom is ending in America?  I wouldn’t put it past him, he’s already trying to strangle the free press and dispense with those who disagree with or challenge him on anything.  He’s definitely not one who can or will lead us to a more peaceful and free world.  Not Trump. That. Is. For. Sure.

 As I say at the end of every post…Peace!  I am hopeful that one day there will be peace on earth, I just pray it’s not the peace that follows a complete nuclear obliteration – that silence of the darkest kind.  Pray with me.  Stand up.  Speak out. Get Angry.  It’s time for all of us to stand together and be heard.

Peace.   ~MB

2 Replies to “Trumpy Tweets Nuclear Policy Change”

  1. First, thank you for your service to our Country. I think the sacrifices made by our service members and their families can never be repaid, we owe such debt. I suspect soldiers understand the value of peace in a way that people who have never experienced such thing can’t. Their families, of course, understand as well. I was watching an interview by Oprah with Mrs. Obama recently and was struck by her comment that we should all be able to live on a base. I was lucky enough to have briefly had that experience, and it certainly opens your eyes and gives you an even greater respect for soldiers and especially their family members.
    Not much scares me in life, but I have to say that Trump terrifies me. I feel he is our own Hitler, with less intelligence. I cannot understand why he seems hell bent on destroying everything good America stands for. I cannot believe that the actual voting members of our society elected Hillary and an antiquated system gave us Trump, a man who flaunts sexually assaulting women, denigrating soldiers, humiliating disabled people, shaming refugees, and behaving like a world-class Bully. I don’t know why this has to happen. I can’t imagine how this happened. I’m scared.

  2. Scary. People use to laugh and poke fun at my dad for teaching his kids survival skills. Now, I feel that I am reliving those years and want to protect my family from what I fear might be facing our country down the road. As you have stated before, a two year old has been placed in the highest position our country can bestow on an individual. Just the thought that one of his temper tantrums might seal the fate of our country scares the crap out of me.
    So far the man has showed me just how wrong this election has been. He has built his cabinet with those that will go along with anything he might propose, that alone is scary. But still I hear people applauding him on his choices. People are willing to follow him, how is that possible? Can they not see what I see?
    I just hope that I am wrong, but so far it doesn’t look that way.

Leave Your Feedback!

