General Blips

Preparing for Christmas

I’ve been preparing for Christmas.  This year I have had a job and it’s helped a lot with me being able to give gifts to my loved ones this Christmas.  I’ve had a lot of fun shopping with my buddy Linda and checking out all the various stores.  During most of the year we are so overrun with tourists here that you cannot get near the factory outlet stores that are all located here in my hometown of Kittery, Maine.

This place is rather famous for the Kittery Premium Outlet shops, so people come from far and wide to shop here.  Also the famous Kittery Trading Post is here in town too.  That place is just one awesome place, you can literally spend hours shopping in there.  Primarily they are known as the #1 outfitter in the state, carrying all kinds of guns, archery, climbing, camping and fishing equipment.  But they are also well known for their clothing, like NorthFace and other famous name brands. If they don’t have it you don’t need it. Check out the link to their website, you can shop there for days!

Anyway, I have shopped for my nephew and got him a great set of Buck knives in a nice collector tin.  They’re just really sweet knives to add to his collection.  He likes to collect them just as I do.  I have been giving him cool knives over the past few years for Christmas and for his birthday in September too.  He must have quite a collection by now.  It started because I had given his father a Buck knife in a case that I had engraved his initials into when he was a young boy. He kept that knife and still wears it on his belt to this day.  So I carried the tradition on to his only son.

The teenage girls, my nieces, are very hard to buy for.  I got them some cool nail polishes in skull shaped bottles from Hot Topics, which they will like.  I also got them each an iTunes gift card.  They love their music, so those will be great gifts for both of them.  My older nieces are in their early 20’s now, and I am not sure what to get them.  One is in Florida and is going to a conference in Monterey Bay California – she’s a marine biologist – and she’ll be arriving here in Maine on Christmas day.  Where she’s going to be traveling I don’t want to buy her something she has to deal with carrying back.  The other two are here locally, so I will see them more during the holidays.  I think I am going to get the three older girls all gas cards, since they all have cars and need gas all the time.  It’s really difficult for me to buy for them as I don’t know what kinds of things they would like and what they would find corny or stupid.  I don’t think I can fail with a Cumberland Farms or Circle K card.  They could get gas, or beer or whatever they want at those stores.  Yes, I’m sure they’ll use the cards.

I enjoy the fact that I am a little more able to give small gifts this year.  It makes me feel good.  The best part of Christmas though is the fact that I get to spend time with my family and I get to see those that I don’t see as often during the rest of the year.  Like today I am going to a party given by my father’s side of the family, who I rarely see except for maybe once over the summer at our annual 4th of July bash.  So seeing everyone and catching up on the latest news in their lives is really fun.

12-11-16

The party was a ton of fun yesterday.  I got to visit with my Dad’s sister, my aunt Dottie, for a good long time.  I never get to see much of her during the year, so it was super nice to spend time with her.  Here’s a picture of her (middle) with my parents and then the two of us taken yesterday.

You can really see the family resemblance with her and my Dad.  He was really happy to get to see her as well yesterday. I do think there’s some favoritism there!  🙂

This coming Saturday, the 17th, I will be attending my brother’s annual holiday bash.  It’s always a huge party with lots to eat and drink.  It’s primarily my mother’s side of the family along with many friends of my brother.  I do love the holiday gatherings!!!

3 thoughts on “Preparing for Christmas”

  1. You really look a lot like your mom, but I see a lot of family resemblance in all of you. Glad you’re able to enjoy Christmas this year.

  2. good to hear you had a good time at the party. its great to get together with family this time of year. its sort of sad how families seem to live so far apart these days Most of my family moved South, I and my son are the last to remain here in Ohio. I miss the old days. your parents look great! love reading your posts
    hugs, Bert

Leave Your Feedback!

