Butch Stuff, Gender Identity

Great Books

I went to the local Barnes & Noble bookstore tonight to order Tomboy Survival Guide by Ivan E. Coyote and had the luck that the bookstore had been overrun by a local kids band that was playing Christmas carols on the platform of the magazine section. They had the place completely mobbed.  I did, however, manage to get the book ordered and should be getting a call from the store in a few days when it’s in for me to pick it up.  I’m looking forward to reading this new book by Ivan.  I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all of the other books written by Ivan and can’t say enough about them.

Most recently I read Stilettos & Steel by Jeri Estes, which was one of my all time favorite books!  It’s a Butch/femme romance and action book.  Set in the 60’s in San Franscisco complete with mob influence and seedy nightlife.  I found it to be a very easy and quick read.  Although it could have had a bit more sex, still it was really good and kept me quite interested from beginning to end.  The book is based on a true story and Jeri Estes really brings it!

I am always on the lookout for new books to read, especially about the LGBT culture and stories of living in our community.  I feel like they are becoming harder and harder to find as the internet takes over our visual fields and minds.  When was the last time you read a good book?  I mean really sat down and read it from front to back?  I know that before Stilettos & Steel it had been quite a while for me.  I pick up my daily reading now from my laptop, like most other people today.  I tend to look to people like Cleis Publishing – who publish a wide variety of  books from LGBT authors – for most of my reading list.

What is on your reading list?  Have you read any good books that you can recommend?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Great Books”

  1. I just read this really cute young adult book called Girl Mans Up by M. E. Girard and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Great example of a modern era young butch who holds down her female identity despite assumptions that she’s trans or that there’s something wrong with being a masculine female. An unfortunate bit of misogyny tho (starting with the title) and the kid uses the word pussy in a derogatory way which did make me cringe but overall really enjoyed it. It was fun to try and imagine being out at a younger age.
    http://www.megirard.com/girl-mans-up.html

  2. Hi. I’m an award-winning author and I’ve just written a book I think might be right up your alley. It’s titled When Butches Cry, and is being published by Sapphire Books Publishing on December 15, 2016. It takes place on an island in the middle of the Atlantic in the middle of the 20th century. Here is a link to the book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DfpDCKRav8

    If you’re interested in reading it to review, please contact me at gentasebastian (at) yahoo(dot)com.

  3. Read “Go Set a Watchman.” Read it in just three days – a record for me! Really kept my attention and I have a short attention span with books.

Leave Your Feedback!

