General Blips

Speaking Out

I’ve  been relatively subdued on social media about the political debacle that is currently taking place here in America.  Today I kind of vented some of my frustrations on my Facebook page.  For those who are interested you can check out my page or read below.

“I haven’t said much since the election.  But I feel the palpable hate seething in this nation.  I watch the news and am watching carefully as DJT picks his team….Steve Bannon? Is he serious?  I can’t just watch some of these appointments without speaking out.  I don’t want to see civil rights go backwards 50 years – or more.

I am not out there protesting; I’m doing it from the comfort of my own home though.  I am not protesting the election result, I accept it.  But I am very concerned with where he takes us now that he has secured the office.  This is a man with no real time political experience.  He has the future of our country and our well being in his hands.  When he appoints a person such as Mr. Bannon to be his top advisor it concerns me greatly.

I condemn violence. I condemn racism, hate, misogyny, classic and all separation between people.  I condemn the destruction of property and violence in the name of democracy.  I do not condemn anyone’s act of protest as given by 1 st amendment rights.

Don’t tell us to get over it or to move on.  Tell us it’s going to be okay, because you and my fellow Americans will hold the new president to a truly American standard.

People are protesting because they and their families, friends, and loved ones very place at the American table has been threatened or undermined by DJT’s campaign rhetoric and promises.  

There has been a visible increase in hatred and violence against many minority groups just since the election November 8th.  I’ve personally heard the use of derogatory words by people who somehow now feel emboldened to say things that maybe they wouldn’t have said before. It makes me wonder what else they may fell is now okay to say or do.

I am a white woman.  I know I have some privilege because of this, this fact is not lost on me.  But I am also a Butch lesbian which throws me into a minority group that feels very threatened right now — the LGBT community.Maybe my fears of what DJT will do in office will be unfounded, but I have to wonder if it will be once again OK to bash gays?

We are about to enter a very different era and many things remain to be seen. I am hoping for and will fight for the best.  I stand ready to serve my communities and my country in whatever way possible to move us forward in a continued positive direction. I stand beside my brethren in our continued fight for equality for all people across this land.  I will respect the rights of those who oppose me to have their own opinion as well as their right to speak it.  Bit I will not to?stats words of hate, being called names or being bashed for what I believe to be right and true.  

I conclusion, I wish peace and love to prevail.  I hope we can ALL come together in collective understanding one day. I wish everyone true happiness, prosperity and success under our new president-elect.  And God bless America.”

I have unfriended a couple of real ignorant people who were being outwardly hostile after the election.  I’ve read some real doozies of comments bashing the protestors or gloating about Trump winning.  I held my tongue and didn’t immediately respond about the election.  Hell I was shell shocked and didn’t know what to say at first.  But I finally had to vent a little.  This post was the result.  I’m sure it would have been much longer and more detailed had it not been a Facebook post to begin with.  

So far the feedback has been positive.  But I am sure that there will be negative comments to come.  Everyone has the right to their own opinion as I said.  And I have a right to mine as well.  

I’ll be writing more about this as we see what happens I am sure.

4 thoughts on “Speaking Out”

  1. I am deeply worried about you and all my American friends, which all of them except maybe a dozen are in one or more minority groups , I wish Canada would throw open the borders here for the minorities in the USA who may be at risk now or in the very near future,

    Be safe my friend

  2. I’ve been thinking about putting something like that on Facebook too but I’ve been too emotional to write something as eloquent as you did. I hope it gets good responses and even people who don’t agree are respectful of your feelings. Take care of yourself.

  3. So scary to imagine where this man will take our country….he will try to Mack it a “Man’s World” again like the olden days…just when Women were gaining some control. Darn!!!

Leave Your Feedback!

