Nightmares…and New Books.

I woke up in a cold sweat.    Please someone  tell me it’s all a nightmare.   I cannot even mentally grasp the idea of DJT being President of this country.  What will it mean to us?  I fear the worst for sure.  My Canadian friends have all expressed their shock as well.  I bet we are the laughing stock of the world.  It just stands to reason.

I got a fresh haircut last Friday up at Boston Barbers whee I usually go.  For the first time I let someone else cut my hair in there and for the first time I experienced some discrimination from my barber.  I should have waited for Brandon who has been cutting it since Johnny left, but I was in a hurry and took the first available barber who happened to be a black dude who definitely was not comfortable with me, my presentation or the fact I wanted a crew cut. He did a half assed job of it and I was done in less than 15 minutes.  He didn’t edge my cut or shave my neck.  It was the worst experience I have had in a long time with a barber.  He didn’t enjoy his job when it was a Butch in the chair for sure.  And it’s a shame because I considered that place to be my go-to barber shop.  I usually love it there.  Next time I will ask for Brandon or B Skinny to cut it.  This last dude is on my no-cut list!

Went to Barnes & Noble bookstore tonight and picked up s new book.  I got Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation by Kate Bornstein and S Bear Bergman .  It’s got a lot about gender nonconformity and sexuality in it.  It is a compilation of submissions from various writers.  I find it kind of interesting but…a bit boring in some ways. Personally I am finding it to be a tough read.  It isn’t what I expected for sure.  I love going to the bookstore though.  It just makes me so happy to be in a place full of books and writing implements!  I got more joy from the trip to the store than I am from the book.  I also got a new coloring journal that I started tonight.

So tonight I will lay my tired head upon my pillow and try to dream of happier times.  I will try to think of ways to make some sort of sense of things.  I will try not to let the recent election keep me updated down for long.  But I still wonder if I will ever feel safe again in this world.  Peace.  MB

Author: MainelyButch

I am a pretty relaxed, proud, Butch and a native Mainer who enjoys reading, writing, blogging, vlogging and social interaction. I live in southern Maine, near the coast with my 2 small dogs and I hail from a very large, loving family that is historically rooted here. I write about my life, my experiences, living successfully with HIV, my YouTube experiences, and just about anything that piques my interest. This blog may contain profanity and sexual situations, and is not intended for younger audiences. Read at your own risk. At 54 I see life as just beginning a new chapter, and have decide this is the time that I need to write the stories that got me to this point. I believe we live our lives in chapters, changing, evolving and moving continuously with the times. I love to laugh, have discussions, debates and even the occasional nonsense conversation! I generally enjoy people, but not drama, hatred, ignorance or those who choose to feel they are somehow elite or superior to another simply due to their mere existence. I try to be very conscious of the health of the world around me - environmentally, socially, economically, and ethically. The people who are dear to me know me as having a tough exterior, filled with marshmallow and crunchy peanut butter. I continually strive to be the best I can be, especially to address life head on...always.

5 thoughts on “Nightmares…and New Books.”

  1. If you haven’t read Ivan Coyote and Rae Spoons book Gender Failure – highly recommended. Ivan’s new book Tomboy Survival Guide is on my stack.
    It is ugly out there- Maine had a lot more voters for Trump than downstate NY, but yesterday I was looking at every straight white guy with anger and suspicion and wondering who he voted for.

  2. Hi…I’ve not been blog reading for a while and am catching up … I’ve no words – either for the nightmare of presidency or of your experience. However – the books and bookstore are a delight – a safe place … keep your head up and your aspirations high 👍🏼💝

Leave Your Feedback!

