Saying Good-Bye

Sometimes you are surprised with the news that just knocks you for a loop.  Last night, shortly after I crawled into bed somewhere around 11:30pm I got a text from a buddy on the west coast telling me that a mutual friend in Texas had died in her sleep. She was so young!  I don’t know the details at all, but simply the loss of this wonderful young woman for any reason just doesn’t make sense.  She had so much to offer the world.  I guess I could say that God had bigger plans for her and that her job here was done.  She left behind children whom I am sure are asking the very question we all are today – why?

Life is much bigger than us all.  And death can come so quickly.  It doesn’t discriminate, we are all eligible at any given moment.  But we cannot live in fear of death, just because it is the inevitable outcome of life, does not mean we have to fear it or be burdened by thinking about it.  Living with a chronic illness like I do I try not to think about dying at all.   Back in the 80’s people were dropping like flies from HIV/AIDS and today I have the luxury of modern medicine to keep me alive and healthy.  I had mentioned that I took a hiatus from my meds a while ago, I am back on them full bore now and won’t be going off again, it scared the bejesus out of me when I got sick and my immune system got so low.

I will miss my friend and our conversations.  I just wish I had maintained a closer relationship with her in recent months.  You know you sometimes take for granted that people are alright even when you don’t hear much from them; one assumes that all is well and life is going on as usual. Like I say…you just never know when that proverbial bus will come along…so make the most of this day and all of your days, they are a gift.

Make sure you tell people that you love them – often.  You never know when that last time you will see or speak to them will be.  I’ve heard this said a million times, but it makes more sense today than ever.  I wish I had had the opportunity to let my friend know how much I appreicated her and the difference she made in my life with our conversations and her moral support for me.  I will miss you my friend.  Rest in Peace.

4 Replies to “Saying Good-Bye”

  1. I am not going to say your friend knew the extent of your caring and loving kindness for her but I’d be willing to say she felt you and still feels you. Hoping that brings you some extra peace.

  2. I’m very sorry for the loss of your friend. Thank you for writing about this as I really need to do a better job of keeping in touch with one of my friends who lives far away from me. I’m going to call her today!

  3. Ang your friend knows your heart and hears you. I have never understood why these things happen, but have grown to accept the order of lifes cycle. When my daughters died a part of me did as well. And when we lost our son I thought life was so unfair. Enjoy those around you, and live each day to the fullest. People come into our lives for a reason, no meeting is an accident. Your friend gave you a gift, the memory of her will always be with you.
    Bert

Leave Your Feedback!

