Goals/Resolutions Thread

It’s New Year’s Day, which means probably once or twice or maybe five times this past week, someone has asked you if you’re ready / excited for the new year, and what your resolutions are. So we figured I thought we could just make a party out of it and create an open thread in which I show you mine and you show us yours. Resolutions, that is.  Although I think of them as more of goals and less as resolutions, I want to allow myself some space to succeed and resolutions never seem to be successful.  I am a more goal oriented person I guess.

One of my goals is to be better at communicating with my blogging community, to comment more and engage in more conversation in general with my fellow writers/bloggers.  Comments are good and needed to keep the conversations flowing!

So, what kinds of goals/resolutions have you thought about or made for 2016?

9 Replies to “Goals/Resolutions Thread”

  1. hmmm .. I would like ,finally (seriously), to quit smoking ….on one side it´s better for my health, on the other side , it´s a financial relief … 😀
    If I achieve this goal, I`ll report about it … 😉
    Wish u a peaceful New Year´s Day ! 🙂

    1. Oh I am with you on that one, I smoke and I should quit too. It’s just such a nasty habit and one I would like to give up, I just don’t feel strong enough for some reason. Let me know how you do with it, and what works for you. Happy New Years’ to you too Maria!

  2. Love the community engagement! Mine are: keep up my reading habit, think before jumping into a new relationship, take risks, let go of grudges, start writing my thesis! 🙂

  3. Love your blog! My goals are to write every day, to foster new friendships, and to get out in nature more. And apply for grad school after my year abroad. Happy New Year, everyone!

  4. My goals have become simplistic at this time in my life. I don’t believe in making resolutions that will be forgotten within weeks if not days. So I will just say that I am going to work on me. Find that woman that once found joy in being with others, in loving whatever I do without trepidation.
    Fear can stop personal growth and I have allowed it to consume my life for too long.
    And then the big goal, not to be so critical of people. That is such a big hurdle for me, but I want to trust again.
    Here’s to all of our hopes and dreams in 2016!

  5. One of my goals is to become far more involved in battling biphobia and bi-erasure in both the hetero and non-hetero circles I live and work in.

    I’m glad to read that you will be addressing both physical and mental health issues. So important. Wishing you a peaceful, prosperous new year.

  6. This year I purposefully did not make a resolution – I didn’t see the point as when it comes to me I am the world’s lousiest keeper of self-resolutions and self-commitments. If I treated myself as kindly and respectfully as I try to treat others I’d be flying…having said that…
    This year I renewed my commitment to myself to improve my health, be happier and make efforts to be more social and involved in life and in the community. I’m taking a college class starting Jan. 20 – first time in 15 years – if it goes well – who knows – as “they” say the world is my oyster – and I’m a pearl diver haha – “they” don’t say that, I just added it 🙂
    I’d really like to find the one I want to commit to spending the rest of my life with but by now I know these things cannot be forced…over time with more involvement in things I’m truly interested in and being more social… who knows? I may find her – and then who knows… we may already know each other but haven’t really noticed each other. My point being MY PLAN is to focus on myself and having a good life, being a better person and stay in the present moment, paying attention…

    Happy New Year to you, MB, may 2016 bless you abundantly! xo Anne

Leave Your Feedback!

