Butch Stuff

Share Your World #3 & #4

Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

One would think that the answer to this question would evoke the name of some famous – or infamous – person, but it doesn’t for me.  For me it would be someone special that I would want as a dinner guest; someone who I wish to see but don’t have the opportunity.  I would cook up some nice steamed lobsters, and all the fixins of a nice New England dinner.

When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

I don’t sing…except stupid little off-key songs to my dog.  I make them up, with the dog as the star of the song. I know it sounds foolish, and it is, but it’s just something i have always done with my dogs.

If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

If I could wake up with a new quality or ability I would want the ability to be a better writer.  I work on this quite often and I do hope that each day I do wake up just a fraction better than the day before.  As for qualities, I want to be the best I can be as a person, loving, kind, gentle and patient, again, each day I try to be a little better than that day before.

What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

I have a rather dry sense of humor.  I don’t care for sexist or sex jokes, I find them just uncalled for and vulgar for the most part.  I try to ignore people who laugh at them, if I ‘m not laughing I don’t find it funny.  I believe that there are many things that are too serious to be joked about, such as bigotry, intolerance, prejudice, homophobia and that list goes on.

Where did you live at age five?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

At age 5 my family had moved up to New York for a while, where I went to school for 1st and 2nd grade.  We did move back here to near where I live now.  I am a Mainer, rooted deeply and will most likely always be connected to this place whether I stay here or not in the future, this will always be my home.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

Yes, I would.  I’d put on my best suit and go.  I enjoy meeting interesting people, and while I can be shy I would give it my best attempt to be cordial and polite and to meet as many of the fascinating people as I could.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I grew up in a very small town on the coast of Maine.  I did like it pretty good.  Everyone pretty much knows everyone and there’s a sense of belonging and home here.  It’s a country town, so I never got the hang of the city until I was much older and lived in the DC area for a while.  Cities aren’t for me, I like my small town, country atmosphere living much better.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I always wanted to study archaeology or anthropology.  History interests me and so does the study of people.

Leave Your Feedback!

