Happy New Year

Happy New Year!

2015 has begun and we’re on our way into another year. I had a little bit of a rough start, but it’s all good, things will right themselves if they are meant to do so.

I haven’t been writing that much on this blog. Yes, I have been doing a lot of personal writing, but nothing that I care to post publicly here for now. It’s all just stuff that matters to me and wouldn’t make sense to anyone else anyways.

I’m seriously leaving my job. I just can’t stand it any longer and will find something else. The boredom of the place just sucks. I can’t stand just waiting around for work that needs to be done, when there really isn’t any because the place isn’t busy enough to warrant it. Plus I dislike the management and their nit-picky attitudes too.

Working in that type of public space as an openly Butch person has had it’s challenges and comic moments for sure. I’ve definitely grown more comfortable and confident in my appearance. Little things that bothered me at first like being mis-gendered quite often (which still happens daily) don’t bother me at all anymore. And I’ve learned to just let the attitudes of the homophobic idiots not affect me. I ignore them, it’s just easier.

I’m sure I’ll find another job straight away. There are plenty of job openings here and there are new places opening all the time that are looking for employees. I’m not worried about being out of work for a short time, I’ll be just fine. Plus Nola will love having me home more again. And I can use the time to start to configure my book for 2015. That project is going to be fairly time consuming, and I want to get started on it as soon as possible.

I’ve had a couple of old friends contact me lately…out of the blue. It’s funny when that happens. You have to wonder what kind of impact you had on their lives once upon a time that they go through the trouble of looking you up to reconnect. I love that they did, it was nice chatting about old times. One particular friend, the second to contact me lately, was one I had in my rough and rowdy soldiering days at Fort Sill. Those were my days of fast cars, fast women and raising holy hell all the time. My buddy that just contacted me was my main running buddy during those times. She reminded me that we almost even got ourselves shot one night by one of her ex-girlfriends! Ah, the stories we reminisced about were quite funny. The early 80’s were great times, fun was had by all. Thank God I can’t drink like that anymore! But the stories I can tell are many and very entertaining.

I hope everyone had a good New Years Eve celebration and an easy start to the New Year. I’m hoping for good things for the year. I like things to be calm, and they’ve been a little more noisy in my head than I like lately. Emotion is not something I deal with very easily, but I’m trying to get better. I wrote a blog yesterday about this, I may post it later today with some revision if I can.

Peace

~MB

Leave Your Feedback!

