Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas to all out there.  It’s Christmas morning, very early, and I am up having coffee and tending to the dog who wants to eat and go out and play….and play…and play.  She’s cute in the lights of the Christmas tree, and it’s a very sweetly quiet morning here, actually too quiet.  I should be making a nice breakfast, but I’m not hungry.

Today I will pack up my gifts and head over to my parents’ home in No. Hampton, where we will have a delicious prime rib roast dinner and then have our family Christmas gift opening party.  Why the changes this year, I am just not sure, but I don’t care for the changes one bit.  It’s disrupted my Christmas spirit; derailed it to death.  I’m used to Christmas being one way since I have been doing it basically alone these last several years, one way and one way only.  I spend Christmas Eve with my parents, crash at their place, get up and have Christmas with them, and then go to my sister’s for dinner.  It’s been this way for years.  BUT, this year they changed it all around.

I was thinking this morning, as I padded around the house searching for my slippers, that next year I may consider being away for Christmas.  Anywhere, just not here.  The way my life is set up I’d rather be someplace different than be here doing this again next year.

A friend of mine is on a cross country life journey type of excursion right now.  He’s been posting tons of pictures from one end of the western US to the other.  Yesterday I believe it was grand pictures of the Grand Canyon — one of my favorite places in this world I must say.  The mornings waking up on the Grand Canyon’s rim were astounding.  There is nothing in this world like the sun rising on that place and the vivid colors all coming to life.  Nothing.  And it’s been a long time since I’ve been there….like 2005 maybe?  I don’t recall the year, but a long time ago.  Perhaps a nice long excursion through the old Route 66 once again is in my future.  Of course that would mean I need to buy a new motorcycle to make the trip worth while.

Things work out.  Somehow I manage to make them work out.  I just want things to be good and to work out well.  It’s not so much to ask I don’t think.

 

3 Replies to “Merry Christmas”

Leave Your Feedback!

